The Decline of Play

“Young mammals of essentially all species play. In play, they develop fit bodies, they practice physical skills, that are crucial to their survival, and they also practice social and emotional skills.” –Peter Gray

This past week, my class was able to participate in Global Play Day. In a day of activities, I was able to feel like a kid again. And it was amazing. It all started when my English teacher showed us a Ted Talk about the decline of Play. The speaker was Peter Gray, and he explained that the decline of Play has lead to a variety of problems in the emotional development of children. However, the part of the video that struck me the most, was how free Play affected a person’s sense of internal control, the ability to have control over your life. I did not know this, and until recently, I have always believed that Play was reserved for children, and as we grow up, Play tends to disappear out of our lives for a good reason. Unfortunately, this is not the case. From my experience with Global School Play Day, I learned that Play is necessary for everyone’s lives, and it brings many benefits that can impact your life for the better.

I did not know this, and until recently, I have always believed that Play was reserved for children, and as we grow up, Play tends to disappear out of our lives for a good reason. Unfortunately, this is not the case. From my experience with Global School Play Day, I learned that Play is necessary for everyone’s lives, and it brings many benefits that can impact your life for the better.

Leave a Reply

