Expectations and Reality

Photo from LA Times

In an article I read by Natalie Kristoeff and Geoffrey Mohan, I learned that everything isn’t it seems. With wages rising in California, Americans should be wanting the job, right?

Carrying a fat stack of business cards for his company, Silverado Farming, Solorio approached one prospect, a man with only his bottom set of teeth. He told Solorio that farm work in Stockton pays $11 to $12 an hour. Solorio countered: “Look, we are paying $14.50 now, but we are going up to $16.” The man nodded skeptically.

At first, this may seem like the perfect opportunity for the man but to Arnulfo Solorio, an agricultural businessman, this is just an attempt of desperation to find more workers. According to what the article has to say, “The flow of labor began drying up when President Obama tightened the border. Now President Trump is promising to deport more people, raid more companies and build a wall on the southern border.” What can be thought as an effort to the US is only making matters worse. People like Solorio, are facing urgent shortages of workers and this could possibly lead to losing their own job.

This led me to think of my own life, full of pocket-sized adventures. In a forgotten mobile game that I used to play, there was a lot of maintenance needed as in I had to continually log in and help these 8-bit characters live their lives. By collecting resources and building homes daily, I leveled up quickly and I soon found out the consequences as to the dismay of my fellow clanmates and myself. When I’m not logged on, I am vulnerable to raids.

Just like the real world, my experiences in the magical world of 8-bit civilians weren’t what I expected. Trump’s immigration crackdown is supposed to help U.S. citizens; for California farmers, it’s worsening a desperate labor shortage.In short, Trump’s immigration ban may help us in some way but deep inside we need them to do the work we can’t do ourselves.

Leave a Reply

